Tony Daniels 2021 - 11th September Caldecott Hall

The Tony Daniels Memorial Trophy will be back again this year, Covid 19 restrictions permitting, with the competition being played at Caldecott Hall on Saturday the 11th September from 12.00pm onwards. As usual the format is 4 ball better ball so teams of two players. The entry is usually or any player who has ever played in the Thursday League but we will have to alter the rules as there could be players who would have played last season or this season but who couldn't because of the restrictions.  There will be forms available on this website and also sent to all the clubs for circulation.

Tony Daniels Entry Form 11 Sept 2021

Tony Daniels Poster - Caldecott Hall 11 Sept 2021

Tony Daniels 2019 - Results

What a great competition at GY & Caister on Saturday the 14th September. The enthusiasm and hospitality of the GY & Caister players was infectious and made the day so enjoyable. There was great golf but as important some great camaraderie and sportsmanship. The course was in great conditions with fast running fairways and speedy greens.  The weather was excellent and the level of competition was great but also friendly.  

Blair Ainslie and Simon Clark teed off first and ended up first. It was a great round amassing 44 points including one of two eagles on the day on 15.  It took the 2nd last group of Richard Morris and Peter Collins to threaten their lead but fell short by 1 point. in 3rd place on countback were the pair of Steve Greatrex and David Oliver on 41 points.

Nearest the pins were won by, Simon Clark, John Plane, Blair Ainslie and Mark Fiddy.

All in all a very successful competition with great food and hospitality and enjoyable golf. What more would you want? Unfortunately no players from Rookery or Bungay; however they really missed a super day.

Apart from the winners the Thursday League presented £100 to the home captain, Blair Ainslie, for the Prostate Cancer Charity.

A surprise on the day was meeting the Sperrins who had won the Tony Daniels Cup in 1979, 40 years ago! They didn't get a photo then so here is one now. Never too l;ate to celebrate a win!

Full results here